Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science was established in the year 1962 and started General Course (then 2 year Pass Course) from the session 1960-61. Honours degree course was started during the session 1970-71. The faculty members are always engaged in imparting knowledge and thereby building awareness and understanding among the students about government and political affairs at the international, national, regional and local levels.  Their aim is to develop the analyzing, interpreting and evaluating power of the students in order to conceive political events and government systems and to perceive the nature of state affairs properly.  Departmental seminars etc. are the usual features for academic upliftment of the students.


Dr. Debasis Mitra, M.A., Ph.D. (Assistant Professor/Stage-I)

Kazi Nasir Ahmed, M.A. (Part-time)

Smt Dalia Halder, M.A. (Guest Faculty)

Smt Raka Dutta, M.A. (Contractual Faculty)

Smt Sumana Bhattacharjee, M.A. (Part-time/Morning)


 Departmental Class Routine