Department of History

The Department of History was established in the year 1960 and started General Course (then 2 year Pass Course) from the session 1960-61. Honours degree course was started during the session 1969-70.  History is nothing but a crucial conversation between the past and the present.  Through us the future is being shaped while we have been shaped by the past.  The faculty members always want to teach this very basic to the students in a very constructive manner.  To make the subject more student-friendly the faculty members use maps and charts, organize departmental seminars, quiz etc. and interact with the students very often.  Also, to keep themselves quite updated and enriched about the subject the teachers regularly attend seminars, symposiums etc., write and publish books and also are continuing doctoral research in India and abroad with a prestigious fellowship.

The department is running a 2 year (4 semester) post graduate course in Modern History giving the degree of 'M.A. in Modern History' jointly with the University of Calcutta since 2011.


Sri Biswaroop Ghosh, M.A. (Associate Professor)

Smt Putul Chakraborty, M.A. (Assistant Professor/Stage-III)

Dr. Aniruddha Das, M.A., Ph. D., L.L.B. (Assistant Professor) (on lien)

Sri Nakuleswar Mukherjee, M.A., M. Phil. (part-time)

Sri Malyaban Chattopadhyay, M.A., M. Phil. (contractual whole-time)

Dr. Dipankar Bagchi, M.A., Ph. D. (Contractual whole-time)

Dr. Saleha Begum, M.A., M.S.W., B.Ed., Ph. D. (Part-time/Morning)

Sri Jnanananda Mondal, M.A., B.Ed. (Part-time/Morning)

Dr. Jahan Ali Purkait, M.A., Ph.D. (Guest Faculty)


Undergraduate Class Routine


Semester-I syllabus of M.A. in Modern History.

Semester-II syllabus of M.A. in Modern History.

Semester-III syllabus of M.A. in Modern History.

Semester-IV syllabus of M.A. in Modern History.